Spring Classes – Important Dates/Deadlines

The School of Business is excited to welcome new and returning students to the spring 2018 semester at Mason! Now that classes have started, here are some important things to remember as you prepare for the new semester!

  • Wait time for an advisor the first 2 weeks of school could be up to 30 minutes. Come see an Academic Advisor today in Enterprise Hall Room 008 to avoid the wait. There is no advising on Wednesdays.
  • Tuesday evening advising from 4:30-6:30pm will start Tuesday, January 23rd and continue each Tuesday in the spring when classes are in session.
  • Scheduling an appointment with an academic advisor is an online process. To schedule a 30 minute academic advising appointment, visit

Important Dates

Dates listed on this page are for full semester courses only. For add/drop deadlines for courses that meet less than a full semester, see Non-standard Sections Dates.

For graduation deadlines, please go to the Graduation Timelines page.

Martin Luther King Day (no classes) Mon Jan 15
First day of classes; last day to submit Domicile Reclassification Application; Payment Due Date; full semester waitlists removed Mon Jan 22
Last day to add classes—all individualized section forms due
Last day to drop with no tuition penalty
Mon Jan 29
Last day to drop with a 33% tuition penalty Mon Feb 12
Final Drop Deadline (67% tuition penalty) Fri Feb 23
Immunization Record Deadline Thu Mar 1
Midterm progress reporting period (100-200 level classes)—grades available via Patriot Web Mon Feb 19 – Fri Mar 23
Selective Withdrawal Period (undergraduate students only) Mon Feb 26 – Fri Mar 30
Spring Break Mon Mar 12 – Sun Mar 18
Incomplete work from Fall 2017 due to Instructor Fri Mar 23
Incomplete grade changes from Fall 2017 due to Registrar Fri Mar 30
Dissertation/Thesis Deadline Fri May 4
Last day of classes Sat May 5
Reading Days
Reading days provide students with additional study time for final examinations. Faculty may schedule optional study sessions, but regular classes or exams may not be held.
Mon May 7– Tue May 8 
Exam Period (beginning at 7:30 a.m.) Wed May 9– Wed May 16
Commencement  Fri May 18
Degree Conferral Date Sat May 19

Tags: , ,

Mary Byerley

Mary Byerley serves in the Office of Student Success and Academic Services for the School of Business at George Mason University.
%d bloggers like this: