New Chief Information Officer (CIO) Accreditation Launched

A new global accreditation program is now available for university IT management and leadership degree programs, and graduates will earn professional certifications as chief information officers.

Offered by the International Academy of CIO (IAC), a world leader in chief information officer education, standards and best practices, the accreditation program is the only one recognized around the world in the field of advanced IT management and leadership training.

“This accreditation launch is prompted by a global shortage of well-trained IT leaders,” said Dr. J.P.  Auffret, IAC vice president and professor at George Mason University.  “The IAC recognized that programs were rapidly forming to provide education for IT leadership, and we realized the vital importance of establishing standards and benchmarks to foster best practices and public trust in such programs.”

Master’s degree programs will be accredited based on criteria including mission, learning objectives and curriculum.   The IAC information technology learning objectives span the core competencies from individual, IT department and business organizational perspectives.

The goal of the IAC Global Accreditation Program is to foster the development of IT leadership and CIO graduate education and to facilitate the exchange of best practices.    With information technology playing an increasingly important role in international development and competitiveness, IT leadership capacity building is a key foundational element for all countries.

Accred. HandbookThe program’s newly published handbook describes the process for institutions to apply for accreditation and details the indicators of a successful education program such as financial capacity, staff qualification, administration adequacy and curricula development. Guidelines for curriculum design are outlined, including learning objectives and a set of core competencies for chief information officers.

The IAC developed its accreditation through close collaborations with IT practitioners both in private sectors and governments, and with academic counterparts including George Mason University (United States), Waseda University (Japan), National University of Singapore, Thammasat University (Thailand) Bandung Institute of Technology (Indonesia), De La Salle University, (Philippines), and Peking University (China).

“The new accreditation program will go a long way toward fulfilling an important mission of the IAC: to support learning for chief information officers in member economies and to introduce a global standard through a chief information officer model,” said Dr. Toshio Obi, IAC president and professor at Wasada University.

Institutions can apply for accreditation through the IAC Global Accreditation Center. Eligible programs are those that offer advanced degrees focusing on, or having a large component in, IT management and leadership. Programs must be operating for more than two years.

For a copy of the IAC Accreditation Handbook, contact: Jean-Pierre Auffret,

 About the International Academy of CIO (IAC):

Founded in 2005, the International Academy of CIO (IAC) is an international NGO headquartered in Tokyo, Japan. The IAC fosters the exchange and adoption of best practices on CIO and IT executive leadership, as well as with IT organizations and government IT institutions.  The IAC promotes and facilitates CIO and IT executive leadership education; government CIO and IT governance legislation and institution building; and global standards for CIO education.   The IAC has 15 country chapters; active participation from governments, private sector and universities in over 50 countries; and partnerships with World Bank, APEC, OECD and U.N. University.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Trackback from your site.

Mary Crowson

Mary Crowson is a program operations specialist for the Research Partnerships and Grants Initiative within George Mason's School of Business.

Leave a comment