Mason and Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria Partner on R&D

Mason and Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife, Nigeria are undertaking a partnership with focus on furthering OAU’s efforts to develop a World Bank sponsored software engineering Center of Excellence, develop a science and technology research park in the Ile-Ife region and joint Mason – OAU ICT and cyber security research.

Humphrey Fellow, OAU scholar, Dr. Temitope Aladesanmi

The partnership builds upon OAU scholar, Dr. Temitope Aladesanmi’s visit to George Mason in May and June 2016 as part of his Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship.  While visiting Mason, Dr. Aladesanmi worked with Dr. J.P. Auffret on approaches and policy recommendations to translate Nigeria’s new cybersecurity legislation into effective practice.  Dr. Aladesanmi chose Mason because of the University’s position as a national leader in cybersecurity education and research.

Dr. Aladesanmi’s stay at Mason was productive both academically and professionally. Not only did he participate in numerous classes and seminars, including speaking at the GMU-NSF-IBM Cyber Security Conference, he also met with a number of University leaders and researchers, including with Dean Sarah Nutter and Prof. Rich Klimoski from the School of Business and Prof. of Computer Science, Angelos Stavrou, from the Volgenau School of Engineering, as well as some technology leaders from local and federal governments.

From left to right: Prof. J.P. Auffret of George Mason, Prof. Adesola Aderounmu and Dr. Temitope Aladesanmi of OAU.

In October 2016, Dr. Aladesanmi revisited Mason with Prof. Adesola Aderounmu, Professor at OAU, President, Nigeria Computer Society (NCS) and Deputy Centre Leader, Africa Centre of Excellence – Obafemi Awolowo Knowledge Park to discuss the OAU World Bank Center of Excellence and possibilities of partnering with George Mason’s technology management programs in both the School of Business and the Volgenau School of Engineering.   “We very much appreciate continuing to work with Dr. Aladesanmi and OAU and contributing to their Center of Excellence initiative as well as undertaking joint ICT and cyber security research relevant to developing countries”, said J.P. Auffret.

OAU, founded in 1961, is a federal government owned and operated university in the ancient city of Ile-Ife, Osun State, Nigeria.   OAU and Mason share a commonality having hosted Nobel Laureates – Africa’s first Nobel Laureate, Wole Soyinka, was a professor in comparative literature at OAU from 1975 to 1999 and is currently an emeritus professor of dramatic arts; while George Mason boasts Economist Nobel Laureates, Vernon Smith and James Buchanan.

Tags: , , , ,

Trackback from your site.

Peng Warweg

Peng Warweg is Research Assistant for Research Partnerships and Grants at School of Business, George Mason University.

Leave a comment