Www.facebook
George Mason UniversitySchool of Business

Industry Specific Resources

Certifications 

Certifications in industry-standard practices or software can be a big boost to your career readiness. Some certifications, like Project Management Professional (PMP) or Certified Public Accountant (CPA) are required for many jobs. 

Informal certifications from Linked-In Learning, which all Mason students have access to using their PatriotPass credentials, are a great way to hone and show off soft skills like communication and conflict resolution. 

 

Job/Internship Search 

Handshake is George Mason University's source for on-campus jobs, internships, employment advice, and career fair details! All Mason students and alumni can log in to Handshake using their PatriotPass credentials to browse thousands of employers looking to hire Mason grads. 

Many other hiring websites are industry specific. Using sites like USAjobs.com can be a great way to target the job postings you see.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is a great way to explore potential careers and jobs.

 

Professional Associations 

Employers and graduate programs look beyond your academic record for skills built and tested through hands-on experiences inside and outside the classroom. Joining a professional association or organization on campus related to your target industry is a great way to gain valuable insights. 

Benefits of membership in a professional association can include access to industry publications, job and internship opportunities, mentors, and conferences.  

 

Mason Mentors 

MasonMentors is a powerful online tool that helps School of Business students connects with a diverse network of mentors across many different career fields. You can access the MasonMentors program by clicking on the link above, reviewing the information and clicking “Join our Community.” 

 

Resources

Coming Soon:

Accounting

Business Analytics

Finance

Financial Planning and Wealth Management

Government and Government Contracting

Management, Consulting, and Human Resources

Management Information Systems

Marketing

Operations and Supply Chain Management

Real Estate

 

LinkedIn Learning Repository

Accounting

Financial Accounting Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/financial-accounting-foundations/why-financial-accounting?u=42290089 

Accounting Foundations – Managerial Accounting: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/accounting-foundations-managerial-accounting/making-business-decisions-through-good-accounting?u=42290089 

Accounting Foundations – Bookkeeping: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/accounting-foundations-bookkeeping-2/introduction-to-bookkeeping?u=42290089 

Accounting Foundations – Budgeting: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/accounting-foundations-budgeting-2/harness-the-power-of-budgets-to-solve-problems?u=42290089 

Accounting Foundations – Global Finance and Accounting: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/accounting-foundations-global-finance-and-accounting/staying-on-top-of-global-and-accounting-issues?u=42290089 

Accounting Foundations – Cost Estimating: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/accounting-foundations-cost-estimating/purpose-for-cost-estimates?u=42290089 

Business Tax Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/business-tax-foundations/business-taxes-foundations?u=42290089 

Excel for Accountants: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/excel-for-accountants/excel-for-accountants?u=42290089 

Cost Accounting – Analyzing Product Profitability: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/cost-accounting-analyzing-product-profitability/welcome-to-cost-accounting?u=42290089 

QuickBooks Pro 2021 Essential Training: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/quickbooks-pro-2021-essential-training/run-your-business-every-day-with-quickbooks-8585586?u=42290089 

SAP Financials Essential training: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/sap-financials-essential-training-2021/money-and-asset-management-with-sap-financials?u=42290089 

Five Essentials for Small Business: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/finance-essentials-for-small-business/five-characteristics-of-businesses-that-fail?u=42290089 

Business Analytics

Learning Data Analytics: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/learning-data-analytics-2/welcome?u=42290089 

Excel for Business Analysts: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/excel-for-business-analysts/benefit-from-business-analytics?u=42290089 

Excel – Tracking Data Easily and Efficiently: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/excel-tracking-data-easily-and-efficiently/welcome?u=42290089 

Business Analytics – Sales Data: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/business-analytics-sales-data/generating-insights-from-sales-data?u=42290089 

Business Analytics – Data Reduction Techniques Using Excel and R: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/business-analytics-data-reduction-techniques-using-excel-and-r/welcome?u=42290089 

Business Analytics – Multiple Comparisons in R and Excel: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/business-analytics-multiple-comparisons-in-r-and-excel/pinpoint-group-mean-differences?u=42290089 

Business Analytics – Forecasting with Exponential Smoothing: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/business-analytics-forecasting-with-exponential-smoothing/welcome?u=42290089 

Business Analytics – Forecasting with Seasonal Baseline Smoothing: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/business-analytics-data-reduction-techniques-using-excel-and-r/welcome?u=42290089 

Business Analytics – Understanding and Using Confidence Intervals: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/business-analytics-understanding-and-using-confidence-intervals/the-applicability-of-confidence-intervals?u=42290089 

Data Visualization for Data Analysis and Analytics: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/data-visualization-for-data-analysis-and-analytics/moving-from-analysis-to-visualization?u=42290089 

Advanced Google Analytics: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/advanced-google-analytics-4/gain-a-better-understanding-of-your-data?u=42290089 

Consulting

Consulting Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/consulting-foundations/welcome?u=42290089 

Consulting Foundations: Client Management & Relationships: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/consulting-foundations-client-management-and-relationships/relationships-in-consulting?u=42290089 

Consulting Foundations – The Concept of Value: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/consulting-foundations-the-concept-of-value/what-is-value-really?u=42290089 

Critical Roles Consultants Play (and the Skills You Need to Fill Them): https://www.linkedin.com/learning/critical-roles-consultants-play-and-the-skills-you-need-to-fill-them/your-career-as-a-consultant?u=42290089 

Business Intelligence for Consultants: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/business-intelligence-for-consultants/business-intelligence-for-consultants?u=42290089 

Creating a Business Plan: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/creating-a-business-plan-2/what-is-a-business-plan?u=42290089 

Strategic Planning Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/strategic-planning-foundations/strategic-planning?u=42290089 

Outsourcing Management: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/outsourcing-management/outsourcing-management-practices?u=42290089 

Finance & Financial Planning/Wealth Management

Finance Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/finance-foundations-2018/the-essence-of-finance?u=42290089 

Finance Foundations – Risk Management: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/finance-foundations-risk-management/managing-risk-for-your-business?u=42290089 

Finance Foundations – Business Valuation: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/finance-foundations-business-valuation/understanding-and-using-business-valuations?u=42290089 

Finance Foundations – Income Taxes: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/finance-foundations-income-taxes-2/learn-the-fundamentals-of-income-taxes?u=42290089 

Financial Modeling Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/financial-modeling-foundations/using-excel-for-financial-modeling?u=42290089 

Corporate Finance Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/corporate-finance-foundations/finance-for-business-decision-making?u=42290089 

Corporate Finance – Robust Financial Modeling: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/corporate-finance-robust-financial-modeling/robust-financial-modeling?u=42290089 

Financial Modeling & Forecasting Financial Statements: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/financial-modeling-and-forecasting-financial-statements/projecting-the-financial-future?u=42290089 

Understanding Capital Markets: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/understanding-capital-markets/capital-markets-and-investment-decisions?u=42290089 

Blockchain Basics: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/blockchain-basics/welcome-and-introduction?u=42290089 

SAP Business One – Finance & Banking: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/sap-business-one-finance-and-banking/the-power-of-sap-finance?u=42290089 

Algorithmic Trading and Finance Models with Python, R, and Stata Essential Training: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/algorithmic-trading-and-finance-models-with-python-r-and-stata-essential-training/getting-started-with-algorithmic-trading-and-finance?u=42290089 

Excel – Financial Functions in Depth: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/excel-financial-functions-in-depth/perform-financial-analysis-in-excel?u=42290089 

Interview Tips for Finance Professionals: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/interview-tips-for-finance-professionals/introduction?u=42290089 

Government and Government Contracting

Project Management – Government Projects: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/project-management-government-projects/welcome?u=42290089 

Selling Into Industries – Government: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/selling-into-industries-government/winning-sales-in-government?u=42290089 

Implement Successful Procurement: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/project-management-foundations-procurement-2/implement-successful-procurement?u=42290089 

Management & Human Resources

Human Resources Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/human-resources-foundations/the-fundamentals-of-managing-people?u=42290089 

Introduction to Employee Relations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/introduction-to-employee-relations?u=42290089 

Introduction to the PHR Certification Exam: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/introduction-to-the-phr-certification-exam/welcome?u=42290089 

Introduction to the SHRM-CP Certification Exam: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/introduction-to-the-shrm-cp-certification-exam/welcome?u=42290089 

Building a Performance Management System: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/human-resources-building-a-performance-management-system/welcome?u=42290089 

Compensation & Benefits: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/human-resources-compensation-and-benefits/welcome?u=42290089 

Leadership & Strategic Impact: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/human-resources-leadership-and-strategic-impact/welcome?u=42290089 

Managing Employee Problems: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/human-resources-managing-employee-problems/humans-behaving-badly?u=42290089 

Payroll: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/human-resources-payroll/welcome?u=42290089 

Protecting Confidentiality: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/human-resources-protecting-confidentiality/protect-your-company-s-confidential-information?u=42290089 

Running Company Onboarding: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/human-resources-running-company-onboarding/welcome?u=42290089 

Strategic Workforce Planning: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/human-resources-strategic-workforce-planning/welcome?u=42290089 

Understanding HR Systems Features and Benefits: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/human-resources-understanding-hr-systems-features-and-benefits/welcome?u=42290089 

Using Metrics to Drive HR Strategy: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/human-resources-using-metrics-to-drive-hr-strategy/welcome?u=42290089 

Management Information Systems

IT Security Foundations – Core Concepts: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/it-security-foundations-core-concepts-2/tech-savvy-tech-safe?u=42290089 

Foundations of Enterprise Content Management: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/foundations-of-enterprise-content-management/learn-to-manage-digital-resources?u=42290089 

Getting Started in User Experience: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/getting-started-in-user-experience/choosing-a-career-in-ux?u=42290089 

User Experience (UX) for Non-Designers: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/user-experience-ux-for-non-designers/user-experience-for-non-designers?u=42290089 

Agile Service Management: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/agile-service-management/transform-your-organization-for-today-s-digital-enterprises?u=42290089 

Oracle Database 19c – Basic SQL: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/oracle-database-19c-basic-sql/learning-oracle-database-sql-why-19c?u=42290089 

IT Service Desk – Management Fundamentals: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/it-service-desk-management-fundamentals/welcome?u=42290089 

Development & Operations Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/devops-foundations/development-and-operations-2?u=42290089 

CompTIA A+ Cert Prep: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/comptia-a-plus-220-1001-and-220-1002-cert-prep-the-basics/how-to-use-this-course?u=42290089 

SCCP Cert Prep: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/sscp-cert-prep-the-basics/introducing-the-sscp-exam-2?u=42290089 

Google Cloud Platform (GCP) Essential Training for Developers: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/google-cloud-platform-gcp-essential-training-for-developers/kicking-off-your-gcp-development?u=42290089 

AWS Essential Training for Developers: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/aws-essential-training-for-developers/what-is-the-best-way-to-use-aws?u=42290089 

Salesforce Essential Training: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/salesforce-essential-training/learning-the-essentials-of-salesforce?u=42290089 

Learning Salesforce for Admins: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/learning-salesforce-for-admins/managing-a-crm-for-your-company?u=42290089 

Marketing

Marketing Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/marketing-foundations-2/marketing-is-a-powerful-tool-for-business?u=42290089 

Digital Marketing Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/digital-marketing-foundations/connecting-with-customers-online?u=42290089 

Social Media Marketing Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/social-media-marketing-foundations-2020/what-is-social-media-marketing?u=42290089 

B2B Marketing Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/b2b-marketing-foundations/marketing-for-b2b?u=42290089 

Market Research Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/market-research-foundations/the-power-of-market-research?u=42290089 

Writing a Marketing Plan: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/writing-a-marketing-plan-2/unlock-the-power-of-a-written-marketing-plan?u=42290089 

Marketing Communications: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/marketing-communications/chart-your-marketing-roadmap?u=42290089 

Business Analytics: Marketing Data: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/business-analytics-marketing-data/harness-business-data?u=42290089 

Marketing Analytics – Setting and Measuring KPIs: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/marketing-analytics-setting-and-measuring-kpis-2/about-kpis-and-google-analytics?u=42290089 

Marketing Tools – SEO: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/marketing-tools-seo-8551757/develop-a-professional-seo-toolkit?u=42290089 

Data Visualization for Marketers: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/data-visualization-for-marketers/marketing-reporting?u=42290089 

Operations & Supply Chain Management

Operations Management Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/operations-management-foundations/operations-basics-for-business-professionals?u=42290089 

Supply Chain Basics for Everyone: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/supply-chain-basics-for-everyone/an-introduction-to-supply-chain?u=42290089 

Supply Chain and Operations Management Tips: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/supply-chain-and-operations-management-tips/welcome-to-the-course?u=42290089 

Job Skills – Supply Chain and Operations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/job-skills-supply-chain-and-operations/seeing-the-big-picture-of-a-supply-chain?u=42290089 

Scrum – The Basics: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/scrum-the-basics/practicing-scrum-in-your-work-environment?u=42290089 

Six Sigma Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/six-sigma-foundations/improve-performance-with-six-sigma?u=42290089 

MySQL Essential Training: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/mysql-essential-training-2/harness-the-power-of-mysql?u=42290089 

Real Estate

Introduction to Commercial Real Estate Analysis: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/supply-chain-and-operations-management-tips/welcome-to-the-course?u=42290089 

Real Estate Analysis Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/real-estate-analysis-foundations/introduction?u=42290089 

Real Estate Contracts: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/real-estate-contracts/introduction-and-overview?u=42290089 

Recruitment/Talent Acquisition

Recruiting Foundations: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/recruiting-foundations/welcome?u=42290089 

Learning LinkedIn Recruiter: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/learning-linkedin-recruiter-2021/make-the-perfect-hire-with-linkedin-recruiter?u=42290089 

Diversity Recruiting: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/diversity-recruiting-2/recruiting-done-well?u=42290089 

Uncovering Unconscious Bias in Recruiting and Interviewing: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/uncovering-unconscious-bias-in-recruiting-and-interviewing/uncover-unconscious-bias-in-recruiting-and-interviewing?u=42290089 

Align Recruiting with Job Requirements: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/align-recruiting-with-job-requirements/welcome?u=42290089 

Attracting, Hiring, and Working with Gen Z: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/attracting-hiring-and-working-with-gen-z/managing-generation-z-as-digital-workers?u=42290089 

Hiring Contract Employees: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/hiring-contract-employees/welcome?u=42290089 

Recruiting for In-House Recruiters: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/recruiting-foundations-recruiting-for-in-house-recruiters/benefits-of-being-an-in-house-recruiter?u=42290089 

Recruiting Talent with Social Media: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/recruiting-talent-with-social-media/welcome?u=42290089 

Recruiting Veterans: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/recruiting-veterans/welcome?u=42290089 

Talent Sourcing: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/talent-sourcing/welcome?u=42290089 

Technical Recruiting: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/technical-recruiting/welcome?u=42290089 

Interviewing Techniques: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/interviewing-techniques-2019/interview-techniques-to-attract-the-best-talent?u=42290089v 

Interviewing a Job Candidate for Recruiters: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/interviewing-a-job-candidate-for-recruiters-2020/the-ever-evolving-interview-process?u=42290089 

Virtual Interviewing for HR: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/virtual-interviewing-for-hr/virtual-interviewing?u=42290089